Excuses

So yesterday it was raining.  Not only that, up higher than the 60m I live at, it was snowing.  The phone rang at 9.30.  My ride partner, who lives up in the hills at bit, wouldn’t be able to get up his driveway with his roadbike – and road biking was what was on the cards.  The snow was too deep.

I rolled over and went back to sleep.

Breakfast came and went.  I found things to do.  I checked the temperature outside.  +3 degrees C – in the town.  Up in the hills, 380m higher than where I live, it would be slightly less pleasant.

It got to 1pm.  Excuses.

Now, I am English, and the English have bad weather.  I am supposed to be made of stronger stuff.  But the bike, well the bike….. what if I crash?  Conditions are bad.  This is a nice bike.  What am I trying to prove?  I don’t race anymore.  I have my job which proves that I must be a real cyclist!

Hmmm…..

There was only one thing for it.  I grabbed my iPod, and clicked through the artists….. O, P, Q, R, S, T… back to S.  There…. Survivor.  I put it on while I got my kit on.  Thinking of those inspirational scenes from Rocky.

I got on my road bike, and rode.  Yes, it was cold.  It was slippery.  I lost feeling in my right foot as it froze towards the end.  But I felt great.  The ride, the bike… the muddy, shitty, slushy, freezing water.

It was a great way to start a campaign.  Only, I am not sure if this is what this is going to be…. yet!

WR.

2 responses to “Excuses

  1. Pull your headset apart before the bearings rust, stop whining and get on the rollers!

    1) 60 min on the rollers (or until Mr Winkie goes numb)
    2) Drink beer
    3) Rinse and Repeat

Leave a Reply

