Singing in the woods

Riding yesterday was strange.  One of those rides where all of us in the office had been offering up different reasons for not going.

Head of R&D for example: “I crashed my cross bike at the weekend and my shoulder hurts” or Ergon Outdoor International Sales “I need to get the design for winter ISPO’s booth, wont be able to make it”.  Fact is it has rained pretty much non-stop for the last week.  I actually think it is dryer in the UK!

A few of us (Topeak Ergon’s Team Manager, an Ergon Designer and myself) gritted our teeth, kitted up and met at the railway station.

Night riding always has a surreal edge to it.  Things are just ‘different’ riding after dark.  It is very easy to get lost, and to ride at any speed the concentration required as you try to combine your memory of the trail ahead with what you are seeing just in front of you.  Add to that the goings on in the woods, such as the wild nocturnal animals, hunters, steamed up cars (!) and it is a really is a different experience.  As if that isn’t trippy enough, imagine being greeted by this:

After disturbing them (a singing group of children, and an adult wearing festive clothes) taking pictures, we continued up to the highest point in the forest before running the snowy gauntlet back down.

Rigid forks for me!

Old School Rigid forks for me!  It was icy, and someone over cooked one of the corners (not me).  Big grins all round though.

Super super tired today, and really struggling with getting the images to look right in this post.  Very much looking forward to the weekend – my gf is in town.  3 weeks since we saw each other.  Not sure what priority my bikes will get!

Leave a Reply

