Glasgow

My lifestyle means that I have friends allver the world. In fact, I think anyone who studied languages will have this same thing. This weekend in Scotland was a result of that. We were invited to the wedding of a friend of mine with whom I worked in Kufstein, Austria while we were both at university. He was at a different uni to me, but living in a tiny Austrian town and being the only two native English speakers there we became best friends. He developed an interest in cycling too and the pair of us would climb mountains everyday on our bikes. Towards the end of our time there we hired a car, and drove to France to watch the last time trial of the 2002 Tour de France. We managed to stay in contact, and just recently The Pretty One and I went to his wedding in Glasgow. This meant flights from LHR, followed by a ceremony in Paisley Abbey and reception at her parents house. Firstly, I think it is worth mentioning that I am at that age that all of my friends are marrying left right and centre, but this one was one of the best. The Pretty One and I were made to feel so welcome. Not only this, but Glasgow has some areas of interest (wow, that’s almost a complement), and I am planning a return to spend more time with the bride and groom, possibly getting some riding in.

Leave a Reply

