Belgium and beyond

So what has been going on? Where is Worksrider’s update?

It is funny having a blog (to those of you who don’t have one). The times when I have the most time to write, I have nothing to write about. The times when everything is exciting, then I can barely squeeze things in. Certainly if I want to keep a modicum of contact with my family too, the blogging has to take a backseat.

After riding to work for the first couple of days of last week, the Wednesday and Thursday were commuting-by-driving days. It made sense as I was due to drive back to the UK on Thursday / Friday. We also needed some new furniture, and given that I didn’t want to waste half of my life in Wembly Ikea, I chose to go to the one in Koblenz, bought what we needed, loaded it into the car and schlepped it back via the tunnel.

On Thursday, I loaded lots of goodies into my car and after a full day’s work, I drove to Brussels to stay the night at a friends house there. She cooked me a fantastic Boeuf Bourgignion and gave me somewhere to sleep before a meeting with our distributor nearby the following day.

My friend's street in Brussels

This is the interesting part of what I do. The impression that you have of a company is usually based on a meeting that you have at a trade show somewhere. The website also is a window into what they do, but until you actually go there, see their infrastructure and premises, you can’t really tell precisely how large or ambitious the company is.  I was impressed.

Ludo / Gurus Building

The company that I was visiting was Guru sport / Ludo sport in Belgium. The company is the distributor of our products, as well as CrankBrothers, Argon18, Principia and many others. Their website is here.

They are actually a bike company as well as a distributor, so I got a tour of a proper bike factory. I only got a couple of photos, but here they are of their showroom.

I was also able to buy my next instrument torture, a set of rollers for training through the winter. These are notorious for being very difficult to use, making you balance on the bike throughout, otherwise you ride into the TV set.

Following that there was the drive back and the trip through the Channel Tunnel. I have blogged about this before, but there are a series of photos here for you, just so if you haven’t been, you can get a better idea.

This concerned me.

The tunnel itself, for those who don’t know, is a railway tunnel. You load cars and coaches, bikes and lorries onto carriages and 20 minutes later you are on the other side of the channel.

Back in the UK and back at work now.

Leave a Reply

