Closed road circuit

At home in the UK, I often go to the Great Park in Windsor. Technically this is a private estate (a Royal estate) but is open to the public. It is a great place to ride, allowing a loop of about 4 – 5 miles to be ridden on essentially what are closed roads. You need to look out for walkers, but it is nice just not to have cars baring down on you.

Last night I decided than rather than trying my first training session on the rollers, I would go and ride in the park, using my high powered Exposure lights. I set off in rush hour traffic with the sole thought being that once I am in the park it would be a lot nicer. I got there looking forward to doing three, maybe four laps.

A the gate a warden stopped me (or should that be guard?) and told me that the park was actually closed during the hours of darkness. Something about health and safety. In fairness to him, he said that he would have let me ride it tonight, provided that I didn’t do it in the future. He did say that there were three other wardens patrolling and so it was likely I will get stopped again.

I actually can completely understand where they are coming from, but it is just a little upsetting. There are a shortage of quiet roads around here where you can just concentrate on technique and nothing else. It isn’t a massive issue, I will just have to ride in the middle of the day instead, but it does curtail my options a little.

Boo.

Did an hour and a bit anyway, and road a canal tow path today for a bit. That is three rides in three days. I am not Lance yet (or even Yolanda for that matter) but I am feeling better about myself.

I thought tomorrow is about time that I tried slack-lining again.

One response to “Closed road circuit

  1. Very touched to be mentioned alongside yourself and Lance. Not sure i am a measure of training prowess just yet but i do hope to do a lap or two of the park with you boys soon! The blog is fantastic and a real pleasure to read. x

Leave a Reply

