103km, and feeling my knee

Great ride today with Danny, a friend of mine with a bike and cycling obsession for which I am partly responsible.  I met him originally through the Weight Weenies website.  It has been a couple of years since we rode together, and back then it was mountain bikes.  Now, following my putting him in touch with someone selling a high end road bike, we were on the road.  What a difference a couple of years makes.  He was just so strong.  He has started racing, and was full of the Hillingdon circuit and his experiences there.  It was really enjoyable to just be out riding for that long, and the 3.5hours plus that we were in the saddle didn’t feel like that at all.

Now, I am knackered and in bed.  Tomorrow is Core Bike so this will see me taking a couple of days away from the bike.  I think that this will be good because the right knee is letting me know it is there.  I have had problems before, have custom footbeds made and found this to help.  I am thinking that a proper bike fit is the way to go, as previous MRIs and X-Rays have found nothing wrong.  As I said, it doesn’t hurt, but it lets me know that it is there, which is a little unnerving.  Anyone have any suggestions here please?

WR

Leave a Reply

