Helping out a fellow traveller

At the show over the past couple of days, I met and go to know the international sales managers for a couple of different brands.  One of whom I gave a lift to the airport today.  She is young – a lot younger than me.  Also a lot smarter.  At 22 she is in a similar position to me at 30.  Traveling from the States alone, it was her first time in England and on business, and only for a couple of days.  I know what this is like.  And I also have experienced the ‘just passing through’ feeling of visiting a place, and yet never having seen any of it, or nothing apart from ‘work’.  It is also difficult to know where to start, especially if you only have a few hours to spare.  The choice is crippling in my experience.  I had this feeling in Tokyo.  So, I took her to a few places.  A proper English pub for a quick beer, and then on to Eton and Windsor.  It was a whistle stop tour taking in Eton College, and Windsor Castle.  We did it in about two hours, and it was good fun.  I hope that it made her visit just a little more interesting.  It also made me think about how nice it actually is around here.  Sometimes it is easy to forget what you have on your doorstep.

Leave a Reply

