Cold weather and photo inspiration

Ironic isn’t it?  After the last post about nothing beating the real thing in terms of music, I decide I should ride the bike a little bit.  Being that it is REALLY cold at the moment, the approach that I took was to grab the Tacx rollers, and set them up in front of the TV.  Rollers are great.  You have to keep the balance yourself – you are properly riding the bike.  Far less boring than turbo training.  You need a towel down though, because there is no air flow.

Cold weather makes me think of my other hobbies.  I was recently inspired by a different blog and the winter provides such great light for photography during the afternoon.

I cleaned my car and felt inspired.  Please click for hi resolution.

I had lusted after a BMW since my first ever trip to Germany in 1994.  We visited the BMW museum in Munich as part of a school trip, and that planted it for me.  My view of money though is such that I don’t want masses of cash sat around in a depreciating asset – so an older BMW was the way to go.  Someone else has lost most of the money that it cost new, while it continues to deliver 90% of what it did from the showroom.

The photographs are taken using a tri-pod, a Canon 1000D and long exposures to try to compensate for the low light levels.

The light at 4pm was great, I just had to drive around a bit to find a good location.  In the background of the first photo there are deer – these photos were taken in the car parks for Windsor Great Park.

Leave a Reply

