A long way from Wiltshire

It wasn’t all just sunshine and bikes in Monterey. I went to a state comprehensive school. It was a great school, by all accounts and I would hope that my children go somewhere similar. In the countryside it meant that abilities were mixed. It was diverse, if not culturally so.

What is interesting about that school is that people are now all over the world. I know people in Australia, New Zealand, Germany, Thailand, France and the USA. People who I was friendly with at school seem to be dotted all over the place. It actually makes me very proud. A lot of them have properly travelled too (unlike me – I go from country to country seeing only a snippet of what is on offer – pampered existence that I have).

In Monterey I was fortunate enough to be able to meet up with a friend from school. Literally from school. I don’t think we had seen each other since (and certainly not for any great period of time if we were in the same room). She lives near San Fran, with her husband and two (very well behaved and cute) children.

Monterey is quite famous for a couple of things. One of them is golf. That we didn’t play. The other is the Aquarium. It was, I think, the third, or fourth time that I had been to Monterey for the Sea Otter festival. I had never been to the aquarium though, so when this opportunity came up I jumped at it.

The place itself was amazing. The size of the tanks and the displays really impressive. I will let the pictures do the rest of the talking.

Afterwards we went to lunch on one of the wharfs which was once part of the massive sardine trade which Monterey was once central too (apparently one day there weren’t any fish anymore)! Looking out to sea, watching the sea lions swimming by, it struck me what a long way were both were from Wiltshire.

Leave a Reply

