Happy Days

It was one of the hottest days of the year today. The sun was shining and it actually felt like summer. On Monday, when riding with Manchester Wheelers there was a suggestion that I should join the Thursday night ride from near Ashley. There is a group who gets together for a ride, which the suggestion was would be about my speed. From home, the start is about 10 miles away (16km), so I set off at a warm up pace, using the small chainring for the first 12km or so. I got there with 10 minutes to spare, make some introductions, and then try to ride in a way that wouldn’t disgrace myself!

Well, I was told that the ride would ‘wind up’ a bit as it went on. This was true. We set off relatively quickly, and just got faster. I managed to do my bit at the front in the first part of the ride, but moving forward later I found myself thinking ‘this is a bad idea’. So I sat at the back for a bit. Then, well then the chain gang started. (a chain gang is two lines of riders. The outside line moves faster than the inside line. When you get to the front the rider on the outside moves across to the inside and eases off slightly, as the next rider moves up and then across. After about 20 seconds, you are then at the back, so you move to the outside line and dig deep again to move to the front. The effect is that you all ride very quickly!)

I rode for about 5 pulls at the front, but then noticed that not all of the riders were taking part, so thought to myself, sod it…. At the back of my mind was the fact that I still needed to ride the ten miles home.

By the end of the ride, we had an average speed of 33.8km/h, and then I had to ride home.

Right now, I am sitting on the sofa, with 91km in my legs, on a school night, with an average speed of 32km/h.

Happy days.

Puncture pause.

20120525-001050.jpg

20120525-001125.jpg

2 responses to “Happy Days

  1. You should start using Strava

  2. I have wondered about it, I don’t know, perhaps I will give it a go.

Leave a Reply

