Only 65km

I know that I am riding a fair bit, when I do 65km / 40 mile ride and think “I only did 65km”. Tonight I was out with the club again. There was a hilly 30 miles on the cards. Really though it was a hill, a bloody big one, but just one real climb. I dug deep and pushed quite hard on it, not everything, but about 80%. It was a warm day, but there was a light shower on the climb (max gradient 10% going from 85m to 280m altitude). The ride itself was a bit messy. A few people who hadn’t much experience riding in a group it seemed, or perhaps that it was that there were too many people not knowing each other, and thus not trusting each other. There was someone who insisted a couple of times while riding mid group that he needed to stretch his back, and therefore ride no-handed. It scared the life out of me. Therefore I either rode right at the front, or right at the back of the group. At the back, I would leave enough braking room. It was all a bit nervous. Perhaps there is someone else writing a blog somewhere moaning about the full of himself industry twat, either at the front showboating, or sat at the back burnt out! Oh well, I was trying to stay safe. there was a crash at the beginning of the ride, and I have no idea what happened. It was in front of me, and I was nowhere near it. Hmmm. A strange ride.

Statistics. 65.2km, Ave 27.0, total Ascent 528m. 2h24:54 ridden.

Leave a Reply

